Adding an In-Game Interface For Macro Toggling?

Hi,

I was hoping to receive some help from those of you who may know how to accomplish this. Essentially, I want to put text or an icon or some sort of indicator onto my screen to show when I have my macro toggled on. I’ve been using the common method of an AHK script tied to a key such as Ctrl which when pressed, spams my GSE actionbar macro at a regular interval.

The issue is that sometimes I mistakenly don’t press the key all the way and it will then auto select an enemy and pull them which can be very undesirable as you can imagine. I have some basic Weak Auras knowledge so I assumed something like that may accomplish this if I can figure out how to make Weak Auras somehow register every time I press my Ctrl key.

Weak Auras of course is not the solution I’m solely looking for. Any solution to help me out by displaying a visual representation that my macro is on or off is what I’m looking for.

Thanks in advance!

Short Answer: CANT BE DONE USING WOW’s API

Long Answer: GSE has no way to tell that you are using a toggle as these are actions performed outside the game. If you use AHK or a programmable Keyboard to press the keys, WOW cant tell this. WOW and hence GSE only sees the individual click actions these toggles generate. Unless the thing you use includes an overlay option, which I don’t know of any that do, you are out of luck. You might be able to program a chroma keyboard to flash the key when its active but even that I don’t know IF or HOW it is possible.

GSE can only act on events that trigger WOW’s API. This stuff is not part of the WOW API hence GSE nor any addon (WeakAUra’s, TellMeWHen, etc) can act on it.

Best Solution: Change to Hold repeats rather than toggles. At least then while you are pressing the key you know its active.

Good news I found a was to accomplish this and have it working on wow classic

if you or anyone interested, let me know and I’ll share my steps on how to do it