GSE 2 to GSE 3 Conversion

medix

Hey Guys, I hope you’re all keeping safe and well.

As always, thank you to @TimothyLuke for continuing with the development of an awesome addon!

Like many of you guys, I’ve struggled to get my head around GSE3 from GSE2. I’m not a programmer or coder. So this is a little alien to me. Most of the previous macros I’ve created using GSE are based on what I have learnt and picked up over the years. However, despite this, I am planning to start trying to convert some of my macros from GSE2 to GSE3 today.

I have read the following Understanding GSE3 from a GSE2 Users Perspective · TimothyLuke/GSE-Advanced-Macro-Compiler Wiki · GitHub from @TimothyLuke on Github, and I still feel a bit lost. I figured the only way to learn is to dive right in and have a go.

If anybody has any hints / tips or a link to a tutorial on creating macros in GSE 3 this would be greatly appreciated.

Bam™

2 Likes

This is the summary:

In GSE2 you had a macro sort of. You were a programmer who was told to do stuff with his left hand tied behind his back. In GSE3 you create a macro template from which a macro is created.

In GSE2 Your sequence flow was controlled by the Sequence Box. Each line in your macro in 3 has its own box. (The reason is you couldn’t do a three line action on one line in GSE2.)

KeyPress and KeyRelease are a variable. In GSE2 they were automatically added to every action and you couldn’t control it. In GSE3 you add them to the actions you want them to be used on.

This means that for each line on your old macro you need something like

~~KeyPress~~
/cast thisspell
~~KeyRelease~~

Now here comes the fun you could also choose not to do KeyPRess for an action but instead do KeyRelease first

~~KeyRelease~~
/cast thisspell