New GSE is over complicated

I have created macros here for others for a few years in wow.
The interface was excellent and you could jump right in and go to work creating macros.

This version can do many things, but it is a frankenstein monster due to over complication.

Bring back the old interface or have someone simplify this one.

2 Likes

please and thanks for your great work, happy holidays

its actually very simplified once you take the time to learn how to properly use the new format.

1 Like

It is not as simple as the last version, learnable, yes. But for me coming back to wow after 6 month break and saw the new GSE layout it was overwhelming at first. I am still learning it as I go, looks like it has more functionality, but it is not as simple. Simple is good, and sometimes more options are good. I think it is a matter of how much time you are willing to invest, how comfortable you are with changes, and if there are clear instructions of how to use new version that can be easily found. I am all for moving forward and making changes, it is the only way things get better.

I would suggest maybe starting with Understanding GSE3 from a GSE2 Users Perspective Ā· TimothyLuke/GSE-Advanced-Macro-Compiler Wiki Ā· GitHub That website has been the home of GSEā€™s development since itā€™s inception. Every change is documented and linked to the codes changes.

GSE isnā€™t WLMā€™s mod. Itā€™s my mod which a number of people on WLM uses. WLM isnā€™t the only community nor is it the biggest community of GSE users. To influence GSEā€™s direction, itā€™s very simple raise enhancement requests or reports on GSEā€™s GitHub site. Make a compelling request that is in the interest of all the mods users and Iā€™ll act on it. This just isnā€™t a place I visit often anymore.

1 Like